The Caro girls' basketball team after winning its first outright league title since 1984. The Tigers were named Thumb Team of the Year by the Thumb Sportswriters Association.

Caro’s Moore is first freshman TSA girls hoops Player of the Year

Freshman Adelyn Moore put herself in position to become the first freshman TSA Player of the Year after her first varsity game.

 The 5-foot-8 Caro guard scored a game-high 23 points in that win over Carrollton, and continued her domination throughout the season

It was announced Wednesday that Moore was voted unanimously as the girls’ basketball Thumb Sportswriters Association Player of the Year.

She is joined on the first team by teammate Ellie Hornbacher, Josie Gusa and Katelyn Sweeney of Ubly, Maddi Osantowski of Reese and Croswell-Lexington’s Lily Connelly.

 Moore averaged 17.4 points per game for the Tigers, who went 18-3 (a program record for wins) and won their first outright conference title since 1984. Scoring in bunches was just a part of her game as she also averaged 10.8 rebounds, 5.6 steals and two blocks per game.

 She tallied 14 double-doubles and one triple-double while scoring in double figures every game.

Moore, a Division 2 honorable mention all-stater, scored at least 20 points in almost half of her team’s contests and tallied a season-high 28 on Feb.14 against Unionville-Sebewaing Area.

In addition to winning Player of the Year, Moore was also named Defensive Player of the Year while the Tigers earned Team of the Year for the first time.

Ubly’s Joel Leipprandt was named Coach of the Year and Brown City’s Jordan Milsap earned the Sixth Player of the Year award.

Gusa led the Division 4 district champion Bearcats to their first Greater Thumb Conference East title since 2005. She finished second in the Player of the Year voting, averaging 9.6 points per game to go along with 7.3 rebounds and 3.7 assists per game. She is a Division 4 all-state honorable mention.

 Osantowski, who missed the first three games of the season due to injury, became the leader of a young Reese squad which graduated 2019 All-Thumb players Taylor Findlay and Madi Thompson. The sophomore finished third in the Player of the Year voting. Osantowski averaged 20.5 points and 10.2 rebounds per game and is a Division 3 honorable mention all-state selection.

An All-Thumb honorable mention a year ago, Hornbacher became a senior leader on and off the court. She came up big in big games, including a 13-point effort at Reese, a win which captured the outright Greater Thumb Conference West title for the Tigers. She finished her senior season with averages of 6.7 points and 7.8 rebound per game.

Ubly finished the season with a 22-1 record and district title. Sweeney was a big part of the Bearcats’ success, leading the charge on offense with 12.2 points per game while racking up 10 double-doubles. She became the program’s all-time leading rebounder with 830 in her four-year career. Her 923 career points, is the fourth-highest total in school history. Sweeney is a Division 4 all-state honorable mention.

Connelly, a 5-foot-7 guard, was an All-Thumb honorable mention last year. She led the Pioneers to a third-place finish in the Blue Water Area Conference. She averaged 13.8 points per game, four steals a game and six rebounds per game and was named the BWAC Most Valuable Player.

In addition to the Thumb award, Leipprandt was named the top coach in Division 4 by the Associated Press.

The TSA consists of The Advertiser, Huron County View, Sanilac County News, Huron Daily Tribune, Let’s Talk Sports on Classic Rock I92, Sports Radio 102.1FM, Sanilac Broadcasting, Thumb Tailgater Sports and Varsity Monthly.

TSA Girls’ Basketball First Team


Player: Adelyn Moore

Grade: Freshman

School: Caro

Position: Guard

Highlights: Averaged 17.2 points and 10.8 rebounds per game; First freshman TSA Player of the Year; TSA defensive player of the year; First-team all-Greater Thumb West; helped lead Caro to first conference title in 35 years; honorable mention Division 2 all-state.


Player: Josie Gusa

Grade: Junior

School: Ubly

Position: Guard

Highlights: Division 4 all-state honorable mention; second-highest single-season assist total (96) in school history; fourth-best single-season steal total (89); Division 4 district champion; first-team all-Greater Thumb East.


Player: Maddi Osantowski

Grade: Sophomore

School: Reese

Position: Forward

Highlights: Scored 20.5 points and grabbed 10.2 rebounds per game; honorable mention All-Advertiser as a freshman; helped Reese to a district final appearance; honorable mention Division 3 all-state.


Player: Ellie Hornbacher

Grade: Senior

School: Caro

Position: Guard

Highlights: First-team all-Greater Thumb West in 2019 and 2020; honorable mention All-Thumb selection in 2019; helped Tigers to school-record 18 wins.


Player: Katelyn Sweeney

Grade: Senior

School: Ubly

Position: Center


Highlights: Honorable mention all-state in Division 4; first-team Greater Thumb East; all-time leading rebounder at Ubly (830); fourth in scoring in Ubly history (923).

Lily Connelly

Grade: Senior

School: Croswell-Lexington

Position: Guard

Highlights: Blue Water Area Conference MVP; honorable mention All-Thumb selection in 2019; 2019 second-team All-BWAC; 2018 honorable mention All-BWAC; academic All-BWAC in cross country and basketball all four years.

TSA All-Thumb second team

Samantha Bissett, Sr., Peck, 16.9ppg

Dajnae Leipprandt, Jr., Ubly, 9.0ppg

Abby Bolsby, Sr., Sandusky, 9.2ppg

Kaitlyn Arebalo, Sr., Caro, 13.8ppg

Addison Williams, Sr., Deckerville, 13.4ppg

Aydan Dalak, Soph., Reese, 10.0ppg

TSA honorable mention

Hannah James, Kingston

Emma Watson, Deckerville

Claire Watson, Deckerville

Brooke Mooney, Kingston

Claire Woodke, Harbor Beach

Saylar Cuthrell, Cass City

Emma Irion, Lakers

Laken Chapin, Bad Axe

Emma Taylor, Kinde-North Huron

Chelsey Briesmeister, Caseville

Juliana Hanson, Brown City

Payton Kolacz, Kingston

Olivia Jacobson, Sandusky

Raegan Ball, Caro

Tiara Anthony, Cass City

TSA voting results (5-3-1 format)

Player of the Year

Adelyn Moore, Caro, 40 points

Josie Gusa, Ubly, 19 points

Maddi Osantowski, Reese, 9 points

Team of the Year

Caro, 40 points

Ubly, 24 points

Kingston, 6 points

Deckerville ,2 points

Coach of the Year

Joel Leipprandt, Ubly, 36 points

Jay Riley, Caro, 16 points

Douglas Kirkpatrick, Deckerville, 11 points

Jay Green, Kingston, 8 points

Past TSA winners 

Team of the Year 

2006: Sandusky 

2007-08: Marlette

2008-09: Brown City 

2009-10: Brown City 

2010-11: Reese

2011-12: Reese

2012-13: Reese

2013-14: Reese

2014-15: Cros-Lex

2015-16: Reese

2016-17: Sandusky 

2017-18: Kingston 

2018-19: Kingston 

2019-20: Caro 

Player of the Year 

2006: Rhonda Guza, Harbor Beach 

2007-08: Marissa DeMott, Sandusky 

2008-09: Alicia Leipprandt, Ubly 

2009-10: Marissa DeMott, Sandusky; Kristen Greene, Brown City 

2010-11: Jenna Hirsch, Marlette

2011-12: Jenna Hirsch, Marlette 

2012-13: Jenna Hirsch, Marlette 

2013-14: Reyna Frost, Reese

2014-15: Reyna Frost, Reese

2015-16: Mariah Cook EPBP; Haley Nelson, Sandusky

2016-17: Kendal Muxlow, Brown City 

2017-18: Sayge Cuthrell, Cass City 

2018-19: Kendal Muxlow, Brown City 

2019-20: Adelyn Moore, Caro 

Coach of the Year 

2006: Al DeMott, Sandusky 

2007-08: Fred Mroczek, Marlette 

2008-09: Cindy Burton, Brown City 

2009-10: Cindy Burton, Brown City; Don Pitts, Port Hope 

2010-11: Denny Gruber, Reese

2011-12: Denny Gruber, Reese

2012-13: Darren Bongard, Cros-Lex

2013-14, Al DeMott, Sandusky 

2014-15: Lindsay Bitzer, USA 

2015-16: Josh Pickell, Reese 

2016-17: Al DeMott, Sandusky 

2017-18: Jay Green, Kingston 

2018-19: Jay Green, Kingston 

2019-20: Joel Leipprandt, Ubly 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.